Kirkkitsch’s Blog


A Video Valentine
February 12, 2010, 6:00 am
Filed under: Holidays, Movies

I enjoy the occasional “romantic comedy”; AKA a “chick flick”…whatever. Apparently having emotions is just for the ladies; men are ‘too cool’ for that kind of stuff. Again, whatever. That being said, one of my favorite romantic comedies is a little film made back in 1995, called A Modern Affair. It stars Stanley Tucci in what turned out to be my introduction to the actor. I remember thinking he was SO damn sexy. I still think he is and have since come to love many of his films, most recently, Julie & Julia.

Anyway, the movie (A Modern Affair) has all those elements (cliches?) that I personally like about romantic comedies, primarily the ‘sassy’ best friend (this time around, played by Caroline Aaron), the playful cat and mouse game of “Will she/he…?” Unfortunately, this movie has yet to be released to DVD (just one more reason why I still say VHS is a viable format, I don’t care what anyone says), and is only available on VHS. However, you can buy the VHS and/or ‘rent’ the movie via OnDemand via Amazon.com, if you’re so inclined, for around $3. * I just found out that it IS available on DVD, via OnDemand (I just ordered it)! Yay!

Here’s the trailer:

I also just found out that you can watch the film in its entirety on YouTube! Nice!


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment