Kirkkitsch’s Blog


Snoopy Dance
November 6, 2009, 6:00 am
Filed under: Life

Okay, are you sitting down? Here’s the latest scoop on what’s happening on the job front. First, the bad news: I am not going to be able to go to Chicago like I’d originally hoped. I’d use the word ‘planned,’ but I never actually took the initiative to MAKE the actuals plans (reservations, train ticket, etc.). I’d still really like to go, but I’m having financial issues that I didn’t anticipate (mostly stemming from a glitch in a money source that is tied in with my mother’s death; they just NOW realized that she’s dead, so I had to send them her death certificate and assorted forms and it’s resulting in a serious delay in what was to be my vacation funds). SO, I’m still going to go ahead and take off work for 2 weeks (one paid…oy) and do something around here, I suppose. It’s not life-altering, but I am disappointed.

Now for the good news: The video store chain that I blogged about once or twice before, is happening. No ifs, ands or buts. Like I mentioned previously, one building has been purchased (in lieu of leasing) and is currently under construction (carpet, sound system, paint, etc.). The latest development is that a local location has been chosen, confirmed and put to bed. The best part is that it is literally down the street from me (I could WALK to work if I wanted to)! It’s a great location and a LARGE location. And here’s the kicker: Early on, the owner mentioned to me, in passing, that he’d always wanted to have a place where you can sit and read and drink a cup of coffee (like Barnes & Noble has or other similar venues) in a relaxed atmosphere with couches and such. He said that he’d like for it to be connected with the video store…eventually. Well, the new place is so big that it lends itself to his vision, so we are not only going to have a video store, but there will be an area that will serve coffee and such (think Starbucks and their style of food offerings + a little more less “uppity” choices, like ice cream and hot dogs)! How cool is THAT?! At first, the news was a little overwhelming, but as it turns out, the owner’s wife has been in the food industry for almost 30 years, so she’s got the knowledge of the food end of the business, thank goodness, because I know nothing of the food vendor business. I’m solely movies and books. And speaking of, here’s the SECOND best part, the coffee shop portion of the store is also going to carry books! *squeal!* Here’s the details (I need a new paragraph):

The store here in Arlington used to be an antique store and it added on at one point. The add-on is going to be the cafe area of the store. AND, in addition to being in control of the contents of the video side, I will also be in charge of the contents of the BOOK side! Can this get any better? The two things I’ve always loved, in ONE place; and I have complete creative control! At the risk of sounding clichĂ©d, this is literally a dream come true for me. I have ALWAYS talked about “one day” having my own video and/or book store, and even though technically it’s not “MY” store, it still kinda is to an extent, since I’ll be general manager, overseeing that it’s maintained to my specifications. I know it’s not gonna be a cake walk and that I have a learning curve ahead of me (having never been a “general manager” before), but I’m confident I can do it, I just need to find a groove.

Now initially, the owner had planned on having THREE stores opened before Christmas, which sounded impossible and overly ambitious. Well, as it turns out, it just isn’t feasible in the amount of time that we actually have. SO, I was also relieved to find out recently that we are going to focus on having ONE location open before Christmas, until the interior is completed in the Arlington location and he’s able to scout another store location, we’re both thinking Las Colinas (an upscale developed area in the Dallas suburb of Irving…I also wanna say the Dallas Cowboys’ training camp is there, but I’m not positive; I know nothing of football). So, for now, he’s focusing on getting the Hurst location open before Christmas, and that seems A LOT more doable. Besides, I’ll need to spend more time there in the beginning since the majority of the staff there will be buy/sell/rent virgins. I’ll need to keep a closer eye on that store than the Arlington location, since I’m planning to take a fairly large chunk of the current staff from where I’m currently employed, with me. At least that’s the plan. Whether they actually decide to “come aboard” (listen to me throwing around business jargon like I know what I’m doing. Next thing I’ll be saying “team player.” Oy. I SO am not gonna be one of those golf-playing, lunch “doing” corporate jackasses who swoops in from time to time and tells you what you’re doing WRONG, all the while spewing bullshit business terms while hands are firmly placed on hips. Gimme a break!) is anybody’s guess.

So, that’s it really. I’m excited and though I was a little stressed recently, after talking to the owner and seeing that he is SO far ahead of the game in all aspects that I was concerned about (equipment, furnishings, etc.), I feel a lot better about it all. The really nice thing is that he is pulling out all the stops. He’s spending the money to do it RIGHT and I think it’s going to be like nothing else around here (be it just the video store and/or the video store/cafe combo). If all goes as planned, I think it has the potential to be very successful. I have all kinds of great marketing ideas and can’t wait to execute them. And in the end, if all else fails, how many people can say that they had a shot at their dream? I’m just grateful for the opportunity to try!

I’ll keep you posted on any new developments.


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yay! I am so excited for you. Snoopy happy dance. xoxo

Comment by twoveganboys

Wow…I’m really excited for you too! This is great!

Comment by Cindi




Leave a Reply

